Христофор Колумб не только принял Америку за Индию, но и принял чили за черный перец.  Так чили получил название «Чилийский перец».  Впервые он увидел чили в 1492 г. во время исследования Карибских островов.  Эта культура была завезена в Индию португальцами в конце 15 века.

Christopher Columbus not only mistook America for India, but he mistook the chilli for black pepper.  That’s how chillies got the name ‘Chile pepper’.  He first encountered chillies on his 1492 voyage to the Caribbean.  They were introduced to India by the Portuguese in the late 15th century.

Чили

Индия является крупнейшим в мире производителем, потребителем и экспортером чили. Капитальные вложения в холодильные хранилища в регионах, в которых выращивается чили, обеспечивают бесперебойное производство и стабильную долю на индийском рынке чили. 

Красный чили выращивают по всей Индии на площади 792 000 гектаров в штатах Андхра-Прадеш, Карнатака, Мадхья-Прадеш и Махараштра. Посевная проходит в августе и сентябре, сбор урожая — в марте и апреле. Из 1 376 000 тонн красного чили, производимого в Индии ежегодно, 70% потребляется внутри страны, а 30% — идет на экспорт. Экспорт сухого чили составляет 22% от объема всех специй, экспортируемых из Индии.

Питьевая вода — неэффективный способ избавиться от жжения, вызванного приемом чили, на самом деле она только усиливает его.  Капсаициноиды, которые вызывают ощущение жжения, устраняются продуктами, богатыми жиром, такими как молоко и йогурт. Именно поэтому йогурт подают к многим индийским блюдам.

Сорта чили

Индия - единственная страна, которая поставляет своим потребителям продукцию с широкую спектром значений SHU и ASTA

Существует несколько разновидностей индийских чили, самые популярные среди них — Sannam, Teja, Byadgi, 273, Wonder Hot, 334, Mundu и Tomato. 

Индийские чили применяются во многих областях, включая: продукты питания, кондитерские изделия, косметику, фармацевтические препараты, защиту сельскохозяйственных угодий, производство лакокрасочных материалов, ликеры и средства самообороны.  

Индийские чили могут обладать различной степенью остроты, от высокой до сладкой. Цвет варьируется от темно-красного до светло-красного. Сбор урожая чили в Индии осуществляют между январем и апрелем. Интегрированная защита растений (IPM) — экологичный подход к управлению применением пестицидов на плантациях чили. Метод IPM широко применяется при выращивании чили в Европе и Японии благодаря высокому качеству и низкой стоимости.

Indian Red Dry Chilli

Christopher Columbus not only mistook America for India, but he mistook the chilli for black pepper.  That’s how chillies got the name ‘Chile pepper’.  He first encountered chillies on his 1492 voyage to the Caribbean.  They were introduced to India by the Portuguese in the late 15th century.

Christopher Columbus not only mistook America for India, but he mistook the chilli for black pepper.  That’s how chillies got the name ‘Chile pepper’.  He first encountered chillies on his 1492 voyage to the Caribbean.  They were introduced to India by the Portuguese in the late 15th century.

chillies

India is the world’s largest producer, consumer and exporter of chillii. Capital investments in cold storage in the chilli growing areas give sustained production and market share for Indian chilli.  

Red chillies are grown across India on 792,000 hectares of land in Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra. The crop is planted in August and September, and harvested in March and April. Of the 1,376,000 million tons of red chilli produced in India every year, 70% are consumed domestically, while 30% are exported. Dried chilli exports make up 22% of all the spices exported from India.

Drinking water is an ineffective way of extinguishing the burning sensation from eating chillies and in fact this will intensify it.  Foods rich in fat, like milk and yoghurt eliminates the capsaicinoids that create the burning sensation. This is why yoghurt accompanies many Indian dishes.

Chilli Varieties

India is the only country that caters a wider SHU and ASTA specification a buyer

There are several varieties of Indian Chilli - the most popular are Sannam, Teja, Byadgi, 273, Wonder Hot, 334, Mundu and Tomato chillies. 

The white and black sesame seeds are for consumption, the brown sesame seeds are for oil extraction. White Indian sesame seeds have a nutty taste ad are used for making sweets, baked foods and confectionary. Black Indian sesame seeds are used for seasoning. And the hulled seeds are used for snacks. 

Indian chillies are available with different levels of spiciness ranging from high to sweet. The color from deep red to light red. Harvest of the chillies in India is between Jan & April. IPM - Integrated Pest Management is an approach which is ecological to control the usage of the pesticides in chilli farming. Ipm chillies are popular in Europe and Japan for its premium quality and pricing.

Indian Red Dry Chilli